Council Awards

Recognising Members and their Outstanding Contribution to Occupational Hygiene

The AIOH grew out of the Meeting of Scientists and Engineers Engage in the Field of Occupational Health that commenced in 1960 running until 1980. Out of this group AIOH was formed in 1980 and has been functioning for more than 35 years. AIOH is now the most successful occupational health society in Australia and continues to grow, due mostly to the involvement of its members. Council recognises the members who have made considerable commitments to the development of both the profession and its members, by honouring them by way of various awards. 

Council manages these awards on behalf of the members. It forms a working group of Full and Fellow members and seeks advice from this working group as to a suitable nomination(s) for the service Awards. Council views the nominee application in depth and the result is determined by the unanimous decision.

Pam de Silva Award

The AIOH offers its very own award to current or past members who have demonstrated commitment to the principles of leadership and scientific integrity in the field of occupational hygiene.

Outstanding Service Award

The AIOH Outstanding Service Award was established in 2014 to recognise the considerable contribution made by some members to the long term development of the AIOH and to the overall development and advancement of its members.

Celebration of Achievement Award

The AIOH Celebration of Achievement Award was established in 2015 to recognise the considerable contribution made by some members throughout an extended period of their careers to the long term development and promotion of the practice of occupational hygiene and to the AIOH.