Pam de Silva Award

The AIOH offers its very own award to current or past members who have demonstrated commitment to the principles of leadership and scientific integrity in the field of occupational hygiene.

This award known as the Pam de Silva Medal was established to commemorate the leadership and scientific integrity in the field of occupational hygiene by Pamela Elizabeth de Silva (March 11, 1930 - May 1, 1997).

Pam was a person of great principles and strength and her willingness to challenge both orthodox scientific views and those who misrepresented scientific evidence was renowned. She has had an enormous influence on occupational hygiene in Australia, a mentor for many of the current senior occupational hygienists, and a conscience for all in regard to scientific integrity. Pam was a founding member of the Australian Institute of Occupational Hygienists (AIOH) in 1980 and was its president in 1982, 1986 and 1987 and in 1989 was also the first Australian to become president of the International Occupational Hygiene Association (IOHA).

As this is the premier and most prestigious award of the AIOH the three cornerstones of, leadership, ethics and scientific integrity that were reflected in the professional work of the late Pam de Silva have to be proven at a very high level, for the Medal to be awarded. Nominations are raised, determined and requires unanimous support by Council, and given the requirements, the award is not necessarily given every year.

Award Recipients

1998 Gershom Major
2004 Gerry Coles
2005 Alan Rogers
2005 Tony Findlay
2008 Dr David Grantham
2009 Dr Ross DiCorleto
2011 Dr Brian Davies, AM
2012 Dr Sharann Johnson
2015 Charles Steer